Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Vivir en otro país

Wow, it's been a long, long time since I updated this -- mainly because I don't have very interesting topics to blog about. And another, when I want to share something, I usually just Plurk (yes, I think micro-blogging sites make people lazier haha) it.

I read from another person's blog about his "adventure" to the U.K. From what I understood, he got there through a scholarship grant. So I got inspired to post something about traveling and living in another place (which is also an option I can settle for, but I'm not too keen about it for now, at least).

Let's just say that I kinda envy him for having the courage and sense of adventure in his being, for wading through an entirely different land, and living with different people bearing a different culture from ours (I heard people from the UK are more discriminating than Americans). Part of me wants to maximize the Green Card I have, but a bigger part of me is very anxious in carrying that out. Anxious because I do not know how I would start a new life in the US if ever I settle for that option. I guess I'll have to see how things will go after I apply in January 2011 for this thing I wanna do.

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Las cosas que hago normalmente en una día en mi vida.

I hope my title makes sense because I'm still a beginner with this. Haha. During our Level 2 classes with Prof. Sandra, one of the writing activities she asked us to submit is a description of the daily things we do. So here's mine (already corrected by our professor):

Normalmente, cuando tengo clase de español, me levanto a las 6 y cuarto de la mañana. Me ducho y me visto después de levantarme. Y después, desayuno un café con leche y spam con arroz o pan con mantequilla. Despúes de desayunar, me lavo los dientes. Salgo de casa a las 8 menos cuarto. Voy en jeep hasta T.M. Kalaw. Entro a Instituto Cervantes para mi clase, escucho a nuestro maestra, y participo en clase. Despúes de clase, voy a mi casa. Salgo de Instituto Cervantes a las doce. Vuelvo a mi casa a la una más o menos. Como en mi casa, y despúes duermo la siesta a las 2 y media. Meriendo un café con leche y bocadillo o pastel a las 3 de la tarde. Repaso las lecciones de español. Descanso a las 5 y media. Navego por Internet hasta las 7 de la noche. Ceno con mi familia. Veo la televisión, navego por Internet, y después repaso otra vez las lecciones de Español. Antes de acostarme a las 10 y media o a las 11, me lavo la cara y los dientes.

Los sábados, yo ayudo a limpiar la casa y friego los platos. Pocas veces por la noche, mis amigos y yo vamos a la cafetería: charlamos y nos reímos mucho mientras tomamos café.

Los domingos, me quedo en casa, pero algunas veces voy a ver una película con mi hermano y mi futura cuñada.

Eso es todo. :p

The translation (Apologies for the unsmooth transition of sentences when translated into English. I'm still on the basic level :p ):

Normally, when I have Spanish Class, I get out of bed at 6:15 a.m. I take a bath and dress up after getting out of bed. And afterwards, I eat breakfast: coffee, spam with rice or bread with butter. After breakfast, I brush my teeth. I leave the house at 8:45 a.m. I take the jeep until T.M. Kalaw. I enter Instituto Cervantes for my class listen to our professor, and participate. After class, I go back home. I leave Instituto Cervantes at 12 p.m. I arrive / get back home at 1:00 p.m. more or less. I have my lunch there, and afterwards, I take a nap at 2:00 p.m. I take coffee and pastries for my snack at 3:00 p.m. I review my Spanish lessons. I take a break at 5:00 p.m. I browse/surf the Internet until 7:00 p.m. I eat dinner with my family. I watch T.V., surf the Internet, and after, review my Spanish lessons once more. Before I sleep at around 10:00 or 11:00 p.m., I wash my face and brush my teeth.

On Saturdays, I help clean the house and wash the dishes. For a few times / on some occasions at night, I go out with my friends and head to a coffee shop: we chat and laugh a lot while having coffee.

On Sundays, I stay at home, but sometimes I go watch movies with my brother and my future sister-in-law.

That is all. :p

Now posting this reminds me that I have to review for our evaluation on Tuesday. Haha. I hope I do well. :)

Friday, June 25, 2010

Off to Level 2

I'm glad that I'll be proceeding to Level 2 next week (July 1st). My goal right now is to reach up to Level 3, which is the level cap for level A.

It's fun to study another language. It keeps my brain active for until next year--until I apply, get accepted (hopefully), and enroll under the program I wanna study. Hopefully, Level 2 Spanish will be as fun and informative as Level 1. I also hope to get the same Professor (Francisco Garcia).

Hasta luego!

Tuesday, June 22, 2010


Hola mis amigos! Haha. So I'm trying to revive this blog of mine. I'm gonna try typing in what I have learned from Level A1 Spanish in Instituto Cervantes. Yes, I enrolled in I.C. because I think it would come in handy in the future, especially if I really ever migrate to the U.S.

So allow me to introduce myself in Spanish.

Me llamo Red. Soy estudiante. Soy Filipino. Hablo Filipino, Ingles y un poco de Español. Tengo veinteun años. Vivo en Ciudad de Quezon. Estoy soltero. Estudio en El Instituto Cervantes, Te Eme Kalaw, numero 855 Ermita, Ciudad de Manila. Eso es todo.

I omitted the part where I give out my exact address and contact numbers, since anyone will be able to read this. Haha.

So there, I hope I can update this more regularly.

Hasta luego!